Bad Glitch

Discussion in 'Help & Support' started by drac, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. drac

    drac Senior Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    This has been happening for a while, but never to this degree. The last few maps, when the server population gets too high / and theres too many props (I'm assuming the latter) my textures go "flat" and become a grey or flat black texture. I can still see player models and textures fine.

    However, due to the new maps lighting it has made it completely unplayable.
    I'm on a mac air 2015. 1.6 ghz i5
    4gb ram
    intel hd graphics 6k 1536 mb

    Any suggestions? Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 11.08.12 PM. Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 11.07.55 PM. Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 11.06.49 PM. Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 11.06.30 PM.

    this is probably just due to my shitty specs, but im jw if theres a work around.
     
    #1 drac, Jan 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  2. popo

    popo Zealot

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,592
    Paging @blooregardo since you have a mac also and maybe encountered this before
     
  3. David Heinrich

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Your GPU is kinda low end and Airs aren't really designed for gaming. From what it looks like, you're running out of video memory. Try tanking your graphics settings and set -dxlevel 80 in launch options.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. drac

    drac Senior Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    cheers fellas ill report back.
     
  5. nec

    nec lemondog
    Contributor

    Country:
    Australia
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    3,927
    this

    try cleaning out your gmod of old content and just starting fresh, it generally fixes a lot of things related to gmod clogging up and dying, at least in my history

    delete old addons, run menu_cleanupgmas in console as well once you've unsubscribed to a bunch, and run factoryreset-gmod.bat (steam/steamapps/common/garrysmod) once you're done
     
  6. blooregardo

    blooregardo padre gringo
    Paroxysm Admin

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,834
    Try mat_monitorgamma_tv_enabled 1

    Won't solve the problem, but it will help a lot.

    Best bet is to just do what I did, set install windows 7 on separate partition and play gmod on that, it runs better than the mac port and a lot of the more bizarre, unexplainable, or spooky glitches can be avoided this way. Boot Camp Utility should be included with your mac and it will walk you tgrough the process of setting up a new partition, installing the OS, and will download windows drivers for the macbook's hardware

    For me gmod now runs completely without a hitch and smoother than some other people here. However, that's more owed to shelling out for 16gb ram rather than the anemic 4gb it came with
     
  7. drac

    drac Senior Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    awhhhh it didn't work. im gonna assume im sol till we move to a smaller, more optimized map. i have plans to buy a gaming rig but it wont be for a while.
     
  8. drac

    drac Senior Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    gonna do a partition, incoming sf bloo lol
     
    • :( :( x 1
  9. blooregardo

    blooregardo padre gringo
    Paroxysm Admin

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,834
  10. wester

    wester Kiruclanz 2.0

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,461
    LOL im so deep in the mac hole that i didn't even realize what the glitch was until i really read it

    this is my normal text.
     
  11. Chocolate

    Chocolate Legend

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380
    im running a fucking 40 gig partition b/c gmod doesn't work on high sierra and the fucking compat drivers are like 20 gigs and plus required games and addons i have very little space on this shit.

    mac life is hell
     
  12. Duaine The Rock

    Duaine The Rock schween suckler

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,359
    Im curious how much you payed. My 300 dollar machine has nearly double the gigahertz
     
  13. Ruffian

    Ruffian Zealot

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    use a windows OS like any self-respecting human being.
     
    • Dumb Dumb x 2
  14. drac

    drac Senior Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    thanks tips ill just go buy a windows pc doo doo doo wow ruffian ur so smart why i no just think fo that ?
     
    • Agree Agree x 3